Board of Supervisors

Agendas, Minutes & Claims

Date: July 24, 2017

Agenda   Minutes   Claims




DATE OF MEETING: Monday, July 24, 2017

TIME OF MEETING: 9:00 p.m. D.S.T.


PUBLIC NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the above-mentioned body will meet at the date, time, and place above set out. The tentative agenda for said meeting is as follows:

Pledge of Allegiance
Call to order
Approval of Agenda
Approval of Minutes
Old Business/New Business

  1. Sheriff Quarterly Report
  2. Fireworks Permit – Central Church of Carroll, 24336 Highway 30
  3. Approve FY17 Year End Substance Abuse Report
  4. Approve Payables
  5. Manure Management Annual Update:
    1. Justin Schroeder, Section 33, Wheatland Township
    2. Jason Opperman, Section 29, Washington Township
    3. Karsten Site, Rodney Hinners, Section 27, Ewoldt Township
    4. Stephen Nees, Section 15, Washington Township
    5. Birch Pork, Bob Raue, Section 31, Arcadia Township
    6. Dave Robinson, Section 35, Eden Township
    7. Danny Bruch, Section 27, Eden Township
    8. Schon Farms #1, Joey Schon, Section 11, Grant Township
  6. Committee Reports

Comments from those in attendance


The Board of Supervisors of Carroll County, Iowa met in regular adjourned session in the Boardroom of the Courthouse, in Carroll, Iowa, the County seat of said County on Monday, July 24, 2017 at 9:00 a.m. Daylight Saving Time pursuant to law, the rules of said Board and to the adjournment with all members present: Neil Bock, District 1; Dean Schettler, District 2; Eugene Meiners, District 3; Marty Danzer, District 4; and Richard Ruggles, District 5.

Motion by Danzer, second by Bock to approve the agenda with the addition of Case Management vehicle discussion. On roll call, all voted aye. Motion by Ruggles, second by Schettler to approve the minutes of the July 17, 2017 meeting as written. On roll call, all voted aye.

County Sheriff Ken Pingrey reviewed a quarterly report for his department. Motion by Bock, second by Ruggles to approve the Sheriff’s quarterly report showing total receipts of $18,591.42. On roll call, all voted aye. (Report on file in the Auditor’s office.) Pingrey updated the Board on increased fees, PONI program, and retirement of K-9 unit.

Motion by Schettler, second by Ruggles to approve a fireworks permit for Central Church of Carroll on August 11, 2017. On roll call, all voted aye.

Motion by Danzer, second by Schettler to approve the FY17 Substance Abuse Report. On roll call, all voted aye.

Motion by Bock, second by Ruggles to approve payment of payables as presented. On roll call, all voted aye.

Board reviewed a manure management annual updates for Justin Schroeder in Section 33 of Wheatland Township; Jason Opperman in Section 29 of Washington Township; Karsten Site, Rodney Hinners in Section 27 of Ewoldt Township; Stephen Nees in Section 15 of Washington Township; Birch Pork, Bob Raue in Section 31 of Arcadia Township; Dave Robinson in Section 35 of Eden Township; Danny Bruch in Section 27 of Eden Township; and Schon Farms #1, Joey Schon in Section 11 of Grant Township.

Board discussed Case Management’s vehicle. The Board would like to move the car to Courthouse lot to allow Department Heads and Employees to use the vehicle for meetings. County Auditor Kourtney Irlbeck will check on insurance and options for scheduling.

Ruggles reported on Carroll Area Childcare Center Board meeting and annual Farm Bureau meeting. No upcoming meetings.

Schettler reported on Board of Health meeting and East & West Nishnabotna Watershed Coalition meeting. No upcoming meetings.

Bock reported on radio and newspaper, annual Farm Bureau meeting, and Coalition of Human Services meeting. Upcoming meetings include: RSVP/Foster Grandparents and 2nd Judicial District.

Danzer reported on Raccoon Valley Electric Coop meeting. Upcoming Wesco Director Evaluation.

Meiners reported on annual Farm Bureau meeting and YES Center Board meeting. Upcoming meetings include: CADC, City of Manning Comprehensive Plan, and ISAC Legislative Leadership.

Motion by Ruggles, second by Danzer to adjourn at 9:49 a.m. On roll call, all voted aye.

Kourtney Irlbeck, Auditor, Eugene Meiners, Chairman


Associated File: BILLDAY0717-2.pdf